MB Success Stories: Bryan Sillorequez — JavaScript Olympics Winner

·

7 min read

mintbean_banner_long_text.jpg

WELCOME BACK!

We have last, but NOT LEAST, the third part of our Mintbean Success Stories series! We are taking a look at Bryan Sillorequez's Mintbean hackathon process before, during, and after!

If you would like, start with MB Success Stories PART ONE (Ryan Tran) HERE , then MB Success Stories PART TWO with Leo Yulin Li HERE!

Bryan.jpg

Bryan Sillorequez find him on LinkedIn here

Question 1: Was this your first hackathon? What does the word hackathon make you think? Does it intimidate you or excite you?

Bryan: This was my first hackathon and it did intimidate me at first. Having to complete a project in a certain time frame was daunting, but after doing the hack-a-thon, it wasn’t as intimidating as I thought it would be.

Question 2: How did you choose your Mintbean hackathon team? List one top quality from both partners!

Bryan: I picked the team by working to my teammates strengths. I didn’t work on projects with Leo or Ryan but I did sit in a zoom room with them and talk about our individual projects and we would help each other out if we had a bug. Leo is very smart and knowledgeable and he brought a lot to the table. He wanted to write in typescript and I didn’t know, and I was open to learning and so was Ryan. Ryan is very determined and meticulous. I remember he put a lot of attention to his full stack project and I thought it was quite amazing. I remember sitting in a zoom room and him telling me the lengths he went to make things perfect.

Question 3: What made you excited about Mintbean’s hackathon specifically? Anything catch your eye that made you think “wow, I HAVE to do this”?

Bryan: I wanted to do the hack-a-thon to break the monotony of doing data structures and algorithms for hours a day and I thought having to create a fully functional app would be fun to do.

Question 4: What was your inspiration behind your winning project, "tmrw"?

Bryan: The inspiration behind tmrw was to create a clean fully functional app that would make a great portfolio piece.

Question 5: What were your struggles during the hackathon? What were your wins? Those A-HA moments that make you wanna high-five everyone!

Bryan: Leo and Ryan both mentioned the tour feature and I would have to agree that, that was the biggest challenge. We all have never done anything like that and it came to a point where we all made copies of the branch and tried to figure something out. After reading out some code from the repo and what Ryan wrote out, I debugged a few things and was able to get what we needed shown in the modal and Ryan was able to put together the finishing touches of the tour.

Question 6: How did the “Mintbean method” help your hackathon experience? Did you get help from a mentor? Did you get help from the community?

Bryan: We worked on our own but using featurepeek was pretty cool so we can see our progress. Every once in a while I would look at the discord channel to see if there was something that someone used that we can potentially use.

Question 7: How was your experience POST Mintbean hackathon win?

Bryan: Post Mintbean, I found my experience to be positive. Within in a day of posting we won, I was contacted by recruiters and several people on my LinkedIn network who liked the project enough to either use it or share it to their networks.

Question 8: Did this impact your job hunt in a positive way?

Bryan: This helped my job hunt, adding a new portfolio piece and it shows the consistency that I have across all the apps that I created. It also taught me knew things like typescript to be able to talk to interviewers about.

Question 9: If you could tell someone who is too intimidated to try a hackathon anything to encourage them, what would you tell them?

Bryan: I would tell anyone just to do it. No matter how intimidating it is, you’ll learn a lot about coding and yourself during the process.

Question 10: Would you do a Mintbean hackathon again?

Bryan: I would do a mintbean hack-a-thon again. I thought it was a lot of fun.

Check out the winning project here: mintkanban.github.io/MintKanban/#

Well, that is the conclusion of our THREE PART MB SUCCESS STORY! We will be interviewing our next winners soon for you to learn of their journey! Thanks for reading!

mintbean_banner.jpg

To learn more about Mintbean, the community, our workshops, and meetups, check out our website here: mintbean.io

If you would like to attend a hackathon yourself (or with a team), check out our upcoming hackathons here:

mintbean.io/meets or eventbrite.ca/o/mintbean-2875230003